"Discover Luge" - Introductory Clinics 2016/2017

Join BC Luge Association for a fun filled 2 hour introduction to Luge. Participants will learn about the sport and its equipment, and will receive safety instructions prior to heading outside for an on-ice Luge sliding session to build familiarity on the sled. Participants will slide the final 4 corners of the track reaching speeds of up to 70km/hr     

Participants will be provided with a sled for the experience but are asked to bring their own properly adjusted CSA certified snow sport helmet. Participants will be informed on appropriate clothing to wear for the session upon registration.

Athletes will receive coaching and supervision while at the venue. Medical patrol is on-site during all sliding activities.

Dates Winter 2016/2017:

  • Saturday October 29: 11:00am - 1:00pm
  • Saturday November 5: 11:00am - 1:00pm
  • Sunday December 4: 1:30pm - 3:30pm
  • Sunday December 11: 1:30pm - 3:30pm
  • Monday December 19: 12:00pm - 2:00pm
  • Tuesday December 20: 12:00pm - 2:00pm
  • Tuesday January 3: 4:30pm - 6:30pm
  • Thursday January 5: 4:30pm - 6:30pm
  • Tuesday February 7: 4:30pm - 6:30pm
  • Tuesday February 14: 4:30pm - 6:30pm
  • Tuesday March 14:  4:30pm - 6:30pm
  • Monday March 20: 4:30pm - 6:30pm
Who can participate The "Discover Luge" program is open to participants between 8 - 17 years old. If parents would like to join their children and slide in this session this is also possible!
Participants should be prepared for an active 2 hours, so we ask that all participants are physically fit and do not suffer from previous neck or back injuries.
Cost $50 ($40 for BC Residents) - Please call to make use of the BC resident promotion
Registration Sign up online, per email or call us 604-964-0040. Limited capacity, pre-registration is required.

 

Want to get more involved?

The BC Luge Association (BCLA) is targeting its next generation of luge athletes with Talent Identification Camps in Whistler, BC. Coaches are looking for athletes age 7-13, with strong overall fitness, those who demonstrate a keen interest in sport and a willingness to learn. More information on BC Luge's programs can be found here. If you have further questions about the program, please contact BCLA by email. For more information on the BC Luge Athlete Pathway, please see the pdf below!